• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

LA Licensing

THERE IS A LICENSURE LAW IN LOUISIANA

Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners

(LSRTBE)

Listed below are some highlights the LSRT felt was informational about the Licensure Law in Louisiana.  For specific rues and regulation and exact law information, you must contact the LSRTBE.

The Louisiana Legislature passed legislation to ensure the health, safety and welfare of its citizens. R. S. 37: 3200- LA Licensure of Radiologic Technologists was enacted to establish good practice and protect the safety of the public from overexposure and unnecessary ionizing radiation exposure by unqualified operators of medical equipment producing and emitting ionizing radiation. This law pertains to both diagnostic and therapeutic uses of ionizing radiation on humans for medical purposes.

Pursuant to the Louisiana Licensure Law, any individual who performs radiologic procedures on humans shall hold a valid Louisiana radiologic technology license.

The LSRTBE has developed many position statements.  Listed are a few examples of those position statements:  

Radiologic Technologists Scope of Practice
Venipuncture
Radiologic Technologist Assistant

Louisiana Radiologic Technologist License Law

Licensure fees are currently $100.00 for two years.  Documentation of 24 hours of continuing education is required for licensure renewal.  All license renewal periods are for a two year and expire on May 31.

For information contact the LSRTBE at the address below:
Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners
Kenneth Jones, L.R.T., Executive Director
3108 Cleary Avenue, Suite 201
Metairie, Louisiana  70002
phone: 504-838-5231
fax:  504-780-1740

laradbrd@bellsouth.net

Or visit their website at www.lsrtbe.org